World View

My worldview is very complex. It has been formed over many years by the people I have met and the experiences I have had. World view is defined by Merriam-Websters dictionary as “The way someone thinks about the World”. I hope that my world view will change once I get to learn about different cultures and how I can apply their cultural values to my every day life.

There are three types of world views: secular, spiritual, and religious. My world view is a combination of all three. I take bits a pieces of all of these world views and create my own world view. I am Catholic and  get many of my religious beliefs from the Catholic faith and this becomes part of my religious world view. Part of my world view is also formed from the secular belief. For example, I believe money makes the world go round and what a person earns should be kept and that person should only share it if they want to. That money was earned from hard work and that person should reap the benefits from that. I also have a part of me that has a secular world view. For example, I believe that the meaning in life is to find a purpose and not just wonder the earth searching for a higher power.

After I begin to learn about different cultures, I can see the positive and negative values that Americans have. I found this site very interesting because I never realized how many different sub-cultures we had in American society and how complex and deep we really are. If every culture around the world is this complex, then I am excited to learn everything I can about them.

Leave a comment